My first question

UofMJeep

Reaction score
and wont be the last :crazy:

looking into a CJ-7 with a friend and we are debating on engines. Since alot of the ones that are being sold around here are the 6 cylinder, we wanted to to a chevy 350 (maybe). well my question is: what is the biggest engine for a CJ that will fit with the original engine mounts? Im no mechanic, nor is he, so fabrication is probably out of our range, but this rig is for learning as well. We thought about diesels and other crates but really want to know a good solid engine that would fit perfectly, and even better that we may find at a scrap yard.

Thanks

CH3NO2

Reaction score
There is nothing bad about the 6 cyl it has lots of torque and is very reliable. As far as V-8's a AMC 360 will be your easiest swap. They are plentiful and cheap in most wrecking yards. All AMC v-8, 304,360,390,401 all use the same mounts,if you can find a CJ with AMC V-8 any of the engines will be a bolt in swap.

Last edited:

UofMJeep

Reaction score
Now whats cheap? and how much for them to pull the engine and tranny? Im sure we could do it, but seeing as we have never done it before we may be there all day and night :)

Rick whats your favorite engine, or ones that you know have the least problems?

CH3NO2

Reaction score
The best engine is one that is maintained well. I know people with 240 6 cyl. with well over 250,000 miles on them then again I have seen people blow them up within 100,000 miles. Locally here a used 360 goes for around $500 Another good way to go is find a junk FSJ (wagoneer,j20 pickup) with v8 in it most likely will be a 360 and will all the parts you need. What type of off roading are you guys going to be doing? Running sand dunes requires a lot of horsepower where as rock crawling requires more gears. Trail riding and daily street driving can be done with out much changes, if any. Maybe a mild lift and set of tires.

UofMJeep

Reaction score